AGENDA

TECHNICAL COMMITTEE ON ARCHITECTURAL ACOUSTICS (TCAA)

144th Meeting of the Acoustical Society of America

3 December, 2002 7:30PM Cancun, Mexico

Chair: K. Anthony Hoover Secretary: Scott Pfeiffer

INTRODUCTIONS AND ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

Thanks to:

- Program Chairs: James West, Samir Gerges, & Sergio Beristain
- Technical Chair: **Kevin Shepherd**
- Paper Sorters: David Marsh and Angelo Campanella
- All Session Chairs: Nine Special Sessions, and some chairing two (2) sessions!
 Kenneth Roy (2), David Marsh (2), Richard Campbell, Carlos Bidondo, Brandon Tinianov, J. Christopher Jaffee, Jose Negrete, Murray Hodgson, Frank Brittain, David Lubman, Fernando Elizondo, Peter Mapp, Per Bruel, Sergio Beristain, James Cottingham (2), Roberto Velasquez(2), Angelo Campanella, Fausto Rodriguez(2), Paul Schomer (2), Brigitte Schulte-Fortkamp (2), Jorge Arenas, Jerry Lilly, Elvira Viverios
- Tutorial: Ralph Muehleisen (chair), Neil Shaw, Rick Talaske, Sylvio Bistafa
- All paper presenters

WELCOME

- First time attendees and students
- Iberoamerican Federation of Acoustics
- Mexican Institute of Acoustics

CONGRATULATIONS!

New Fellows: Richard Campbell, Jack Randorff, Ning Xiang

Silver Medal in Noise: Louis Sutherland

Wallace Clement Sabine Medal: Alfred Warnock

NEW TCAA SECRETARY: Lily Wang

Thanks to **Scott Pfeiffer**

PREVIOUS MINUTES

Review/Approval of TCAA meeting minutes from Pittsburgh

OLD BUSINESS

Classroom Acoustics:

- -ANSI S12.60.2002 CONGRATULATIONS!
- -NCAC Reception for S12 WG: K. Anthony Hoover
- -Standard opposed by ARI
- -Revised brochure

TCAA Web Page Update

Student Council Update: David Bradley

Concert Hall Research Group

Halls for Music Performance Update

New Subcommittee on University / Consultant Partnerships for Research: Scott Pfeiffer

Newman Award Update: Bill Cavanaugh

Other?

NEW BUSINESS

Nomination of Fellows

Concert Hall Design Seminar: Christopher Jaffee

One all-inclusive student reception is Wednesday, December 4, 5:30 – 7:00

Public Policy Committee: Angelo Campanella

Other?

FUTURE MEETINGS

Nashville, TN 28 April – 2 May 2003

- TPOM Reps: Lily Wang & Martha Larson (Martha Larson replacing Paul Calamia)
- Special Sessions: <u>Richard Bolt (Named Session)</u> William Cavanaugh; <u>Museums</u>
 Steve Haas; <u>Multi-channel Sound Systems</u> Robert Coffeen; <u>Studio Acoustics</u> Jeff
 Szymanski & Alex Case; <u>Synthesis/Processing and 'Acoustical' Music</u> K. Anthony
 Hoover & Richard Campbell; <u>Teaching</u> Rendell Torres
- NCAC: 26 & 27 April, 2003: **K. Anthony Hoover**

Austin, TX November 10-14 2003

- Special Session Topics for Austin
- Topical Meeting on Testifying: Jack Randorff

New York, NY May 17-21 2004 (75th Anniversary of the ASA)

Co-chairs Russell Johnson and Damien Doria

75th Anniversary Committee, Chaired by **Pat Kuhl** and **Leo Beranek**

Vancouver, BC 2005, Joint with INCE

Hawaii, Dec. 2006, Joint with Internoise.

TECHNICAL INITIATIVES

\$750 for Student Paper Awards (Nashville and Austin)

\$600 for Student Receptions (Nashville and Austin with NCAC&NS)

\$300 for Web Site Maintenance

\$2,000 for Outreach for Classroom Acoustics (form submitted): Coffeen/Wetherill

\$500 for AIA Certification for Continuing Education (form submitted): **Hoover**

Other?

INTER-SOCIETY

INTRA-SOCIETY

2002 International Symposium on Musical Acoustics (ISMA) will be held in Mexico City immediately following the Cancun Meeting, 9-13 December 2002.

ADJOURNMENT